Bite-sized

I’m still around and I have lots of tasty things to blog about, but at the moment I only have the time for Twitter-length posts. I’m halfway through a demanding semester and have been offered a new job, among other things.

The new job I’m quite excited about; it will have a high interaction component with a clinical population, as part of a large treatment trial. I’m also planning to study a related subject next semester, and hopefully the synergy will make the (large) workload more manageable. I’m looking forward to learning more about this particular population.

Here are some of the things I’ve been thinking and reading about lately:

* SSRIs vs placebo in different severities of depression (yes, via “that JAMA article”)
* the relationship between pharma companies and how healthcare is conceptualised, delivered, and researched (Big Pharma, Bad Medicine, an article by Marcia Angell, the ex-editor-in-chief of the New England Journal of Medicine)
* the hyperreality of the consumerism-constructed world (via The Last Psychiatrist)
* Gordon, the robot(/chimera) with a biological brain made up of rat neurons (not exactly “news” – two years old, but still fascinating).

Regular blogging will resume once I finish writing the report I’m working on (about self-esteem/body image).

Leave a Reply

